A Cadence Missionary Saved My Life Pt. 1

207382_1004431602739_1203_n
This is me graduating tech school in early 2008.

Yes, that’s me trying to look fly but feeling alone, confused, and depressed at 19.

I arrived at Elmendorf Air Force Base, in Anchorage, AK on April 24th, 2008. I knew no one and I was far from home. I had made some very poor decisions during my training… like really bad-stupid choices. Needless to say, I was not in a good place when I went through the week-long “Welcome to your new base” death by PowerPoint presentations. In fact, had it not been for the final briefing, I would have been in a world of trouble because I was ready to go down a dark path.

Enter the man, the myth, the legend: Dan Evans (a Cadence missionary), who came and presented an entirely different type of briefing. First, to break the ice, Dan had us hold on to our toes and without letting go of them, try and jump over a $5 bill. Sounds easy but none of us young-studs could pull it off. Second, he enthusiastically told us about his ministry at the “Hospitality House.” I was intrigued! I grew up going to church and even went a few times during boot camp. I remembered that though I had fallen, Jesus could perhaps help me up. Finally, Dan ended his fun shenanigans and invited anyone who wanted to join for pizza and a Bible study. Free pizza sounded better than the chow hall, so I went.

4607_1047278913895_8307954_n
Dan and I on a mid-summer hike in 2008.

The next night was Bible study at Dan’s house. I didn’t know what to expect other than it was off base and honestly… getting off base was like a breath of fresh air. There were easily over 40 military people there. Some were married. Some had kids. And some were single, like me. Dan’s house was located in the mountains of Eagle River and it only added to the feelings of the night: warmth, fun, adventure, a sense of belonging, and love. Those were all feelings I hadn’t felt since before my parents divorced. They also provided a REAL home-cooked meal and after months of eating at the chow hall, a home-cooked meal is like heaven.

(I’m teary eyed just remembering that first night.) I remember shooting a bow and arrow out back, when Barb (who is now enjoying Jesus face to face), came up and showed an interest in me. Me! She wanted to know about me. No one had wanted to know about me for months like she did during that ten-minute conversation. Dan was fun and exciting but I came back the next week because Barb took a real interest in me and in doing that, she loved me deeper than I can now express to her. She loved me like Jesus.

206355_1065823404788_7484_n
Dinner after chapel, which was a regular and awesome time together.

I was hooked. I came back week after week for the fun, food, and fellowship. I started meeting with Dan weekly and he mentored me, showing me that following Jesus isn’t some stale religion but an active-adventurous relationship. The friends I made there became family and when we weren’t at work, we were together having all kinds of crazy fun. I knew then that one day, I wanted to do what Dan had done for me. I knew that I wanted to have a “Hospitality House” like he did. I knew that I wanted to help and love on the military.

I can’t believe that day is coming so soon though (post-seminary graduation in May 2018). It’s a deep honor to be part of Cadence International, serving the men and women of our military and their families. God has clearly and strategically set the course of my and Hannah’s life to lead to this point. We can’t wait to get started!

(In part 2, I’ll share how in the darkest season of my life, another Cadence missionary entered in and helped pull me out from severe depression.)

One thought on “A Cadence Missionary Saved My Life Pt. 1

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑