The Start of a Second Semester

IMG_0641A second semester of seminary at MBTS has kicked off and will be far different than the first.

For starters, our family added Judah John into the mix on January 14th. Hannah and Judah are doing incredibly well. By God’s grace, I would say that this has been the best experience we’ve had having a new baby. Big sister Mykah and big brother Noah are handling the addition quite well so far. They are trying to be helpful when possible, which is appreciated… sometimes. We are all figuring out a new rhythm of life and if this week is any kind of indication of what the future holds then I think our family of 5 (yikes, 5…really?) will be great.

I am taking four classes this semester:

  1. “The Life and Ministry of Jonathan Edwards” with Dr. Owen Strachan. This class is going to be awesome and is easily the class I am most excited about having this semester. Not only are we going to get into Edwards’ life but we will take an in-depth look at his theology, which will be very enriching for all involved. Dr. Strachan is a passionate and knowledgeable man, who will offer a wealth of insight as well as encouragement in our own pursuits of the Holy One.
  2. “Intro to Greek II” with Dr. Chipman, online. I wanted to take Greek online this semester so that I could have more flexibility in my schedule. Dr. Chipman, from what I have heard, is a very godly and wise man, who I am excited to learn from.
  3. “Leadership Practicum” with Dr. Jason Allen. I am looking forward to this class because Dr. Allen is having us read five great leadership books and then attend “Together for the Gospel” for credit. Add in two papers and you have yourself one sweet class. So far the reading for this class has been enjoyable and I am beyond excited for T4G in April, it should be a very edifying time.
  4. “Integrative Leadership” with Dr. Preston. I don’t really know what to expect from this class yet, but if every class period is as interactive as todays was, then we are in for a good time this semester.

On top of these four classes, I have an “internship” at our church, Emmaus. This “internship” is going to be an intense two year program that will consist of a lot of fellowship, reading, paper writing, accountability, opportunities to preach, and practical ministry training. “TRAIN” as it is called, is one of the primary reasons we chose Emmaus as our church and one of the secondary reasons we came to MBTS in the first place. I am honored to have been selected as an Intern and I am looking forward to what God has in store throughout this process.

Finally, this semester is the start of my work with Dr. Strachan as his personal assistant. If nothing else, just to be around him makes this position worth it. However, I also get to help him with an upcoming Theology Center here at MBTS and I get have my hand in the work he does as president of “Council of Biblical Manhood and Womanhood (CBMW).” I don’t at all deserve this position and it’s only by God’s grace that I have it. This position and my internship at Emmaus is just proof that God does in fact want us here at MBTS and I could not be more thrilled.

To say the least, this semester is going to be very full. However, I know that God will provide the grace and energy to do it all well and unto His glory. Please pray for Hannah and the kids as they adjust to a new baby and daddy’s new schedule and please pray for me as I seek to love and lead them well.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑